Sore Knee

11 09 2006

My left knee is hurting. It’s sensitive enough that I don’t want to put all my weight on it.  So I limp.  I had a similar problem when I use to run.  At the time, I thought it was related to some shin splints but I’m convinced now that it wasn’t.

I did a little research on the web and it appears my patella needs a little support. I went to Walgreens and found this adjustable knee support for $15. The main support wraps around your knee using 2 velcro sections, one above and one below. After the support is on, there are 4 tension straps attached to the support so you can make further adjustments to the fit.

My first ride using the support made a tremendous difference. My knee was sore going into the ride but was perfectly fine after riding with the support.  How strange is that?  My knee hurt before the 7 mile ride but didn’t afterwards.

Now, I would never consider riding without the support. It’s snug fit but not enough to restrict my movement. After a minute, I forget I even have it on.

What’s funny is the little bit of apprehension that creeps in when I go to take the support off. I get this feeling like my knee won’t be able to hold me up without the support.

It’s a knee support addiction!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

