In My Garden: Spring

28 03 2010

My yard is full of spring blooms. The following photos were taken today (Mar 28, 2010)

Forsythia

I have two forsythia bushes in my backyard. I’m letting both grow naturally so they develop their fountain-like growth of long arching branches.

Bradford Pear Tree

I have two Bradford Pears in my backyard. They lived in my front yard for 10 years without any significant growth. I eventually moved them to the backyard about 4 or 5 years ago and they’ve grown 10 to 15 feet.

Yoshino Flowering Cherry

This is the newest tree to my yard. I planted her last April or May.  I’m thinking she’s going to be a stunner a few springs from now.

Loropetalum

I have two of these confetti looking shrubs in my yard. Both are approx 8 feet tall and probably the same wide.  They both look like they’re having a party.

Pansies

I planted these pansies last November. I give them a shot of Miracle Gro each month. They’ll look like this until the temps get over 85 degrees. I usually pull them out in May so I can get my summer annuals in.

King Alfred Daffodil

The daffodils are a little late this year due to the colder than normal weather but they still look good and are naturalizing well.

Actions

Information

One response

8 07 2010
Janice

I was just looking for some places to go for a day trip and saw your blog. I wanted to tell you how beautiful you flowers are. I just love flowers. We have a yard full of azaleas but the hot weather over the past couple of years have been very bad for some of them. Thanks for sharing your pics.

Leave a Reply

