Rhubarb

14 05 2010

Tonight I ran across a Mark Bittman NY Times video on making a rhubarb crisp. Watching him prepare the rhubarb and describe it’s tartness, brought back memories of how I came to love rhubarb.

Back in the late 60’s and early 70’s, my sister Shawn and I would occasionally spend the weekend with Paul and Louise. Paul and Louise were friends of the family but we knew them more as family. Paul worked at the Belden factory in Richmond, IN and Louise was a stay at home mother.

During the summer, Paul would plant a big garden in the back yard. He grew corn, string beans, tomatoes, radishes, and rhubarb. He grew more than that but that’s what I recall.

For some reason, the rhubarb wasn’t grown in the actual garden. It was grown next to the garage. It grew well in that location. I can remember helping Louise string the rhubarb before she cut it up for the pies she would make.

I also remember tasting the raw rhubarb. I couldn’t believe the tart sweetness found in the pie could start out so bitter. It almost had a caustic chemical taste in it’s raw form.

I haven’t had a slice of strawberry rhubarb pie in a long time. It’s probably been 40 years since I last tasted one. I think it’s time I round up some rhubarb from the farmers market and give Mark Bittman’s recipe a try.

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/05/19/dining/19mini.html

Actions

Information

One response

20 05 2010
DurhamSis

I don’t recall the rhubarb but I do remember the beets and okra.

Leave a Reply

